'JALLIKATTU' announced as India’s Official Selection for Oscars in 2021 by Grand Jury of Film Federation of India (FFI)
Wednesday, November 25, 2020 16:52 IST
By Santa Banta News Network
`Jallikattu` was announced as India's Official Selection for Oscars in 2021 by Grand Jury of Film Federation of India today at a virtual press meeting. The Jury headed by Shri Rahul Rawail, voted in majority for `Jallikattu` to be sent as India's representative to the prestigious Oscar Awards early next year.

Jallikattu is an Indian Malayalam-language independent action film directed by Lijo Jose Pellissery with a screenplay by S. Hareesh and R. Jayakumar, and based on the short story Maoist by Hareesh. The film stars Antony Varghese, Chemban Vinod Jose, Sabumon Abdusamad and Santhy Balachandran. The plot follows a bull that escapes from a slaughterhouse in a hilly remote village and the entire village men gathering to hunt down the animal.

`It was decided by a simple majority among the Jury members that 'Jallikattu' was the best film to represent our great Nation at the upcoming Oscar Awards. The 14 member Jury was touched by the rawness the film depicted, the complexity of human emotions with well fleshed out characters. We believe this is the right choice and we sincerely hope it gets further selected by the Academy in due course of time` said Mr. Rahul Rawail, Chairman of the Jury Committee for this year.

`The Jury met virtually this year keeping in mind the worldwide pandemic which has affected all our lives so deeply. This year we received 27 final entries for selection and we had a 14 member Jury panel deciding on which one to put forth as the official selection. We thank all the producers whose films were shortlisted for selection and special congratulations to the entire team of Jallikattu on being selected as our official entry to Oscars!` remarked Mr. Firdausul Hasan, President of Film Federation of India.

The Jury this year comprised of - Mr. Rahul Rawail (Chairman), Director; Mr. Abhishek Shah- Director; Mr. Atanu Ghosh- Director; Mr. C Umamaheswara Rao- Director; Mr. Jayesh More- Actor; Mr. Kalaippuli S Thanu- Producer; Mr. Niraj Shah- Art Director; Mr. Nirav Shah- DOP; Mr. P Sheshadri- Director, Mr. Prabuddha Banerjee- Music Director; Ms. Sabarni Das- Costume Designer; Ms. Satarupa Sanyal- Director; Mr. Shrinivas Bhanage- Writer, Mr. Vijay Khochikar- Editor. `We appreciate the efforts of all stakeholders who made themselves available virtually so that this process hit no hurdles. In this 'new normal' situation we figured that online would be the best avenue to reach out to the producers who sent their films for consideration as well as the Jury members to meet conveniently and deliberate their process before finalizing.` Mr. Hasan added.

Film Federation of India is the pan-India body of associations representing the entire value chain of the business of Indian Cinema from creation to exhibition: film producers, distributors, exhibitors, studios and others. Internationally, Film Federation of India has been entrusted by the Academy to recommend India's entry for the Foreign Language Oscar. In India, Film Federation of India promotes activities that stimulate the industry's growth as well as contribute to the nation's economy.

List of Films in contention for Official Indian Entry to Oscars 2021:

1. Chippa- (Hindi)
2. The Disciple- (Marathi)
3. Moothon- (Malayalam)
4. Yesterday's Past ( Odisha)
5. The Check Post ( Hindi)
6. Sir ( Hindi)
7. Bittersweet ( Marathi)
8. Shikara ( Hindi)
9. Eeb Allay Ooo (Hindi)
10. Gunjan Saxena ( Hindi)
11. Shakuntala ( Hindi)
12. Bahattar Hoorian ( Hindi)
13. Malang (Hindi)
14. Chhlaang ( Hindi)
15. Bhavai ( Hindi)
16. Gulabo Sitabo ( Hindi)
17. Chhapaak ( Hindi)
18. Bhonsle ( Hindi)
19. AK vs AK ( Hindi)
20. Kaamyaab ( Hindi)
21. Serious Men ( Hindi)
22. Bulbbul ( Hindi)
23. I Pad (Hindi)
24. The Sky is Pink ( Hindi)
25. Atkan Chatkan ( Hindi)
26. Jallikattu ( Malayalam)
27. Chintu Ka Birthday ( Hindi)
Hide Comments
Show Comments